13th March 2018

Three new Directors appointed to the Board of the New Payment System Operator

The New Payment System Operator (NPSO) has appointed three new Board members, as it moves closer to taking responsibility for the UK’s retail payment systems:

• Christine Ashton, Chief Digital Officer in residence at SAP, who has also worked as SVP Technology for Thomson Reuters and has held global technology leadership roles at BG Group, TfL and BP.
• Jean-Yves Rotté-Geoffroy, former Chief Procurement Officer at GSK and Executive Vice President IT & Shared Services at AmBev in São Paulo, who has also led Procurement organisations at Kraft, AB InBev and P&G, have been appointed to join the Board as Independent Non-Executive Directors.
• Matthew Hunt, who was, last week, appointed as Chief Operating Officer (COO) of the NPSO, has been invited to join the Board as an Executive Director.

Following these appointments the NPSO Board will comprise ten directors (the Independent Chair, five Independent Non-Executive Directors, two Non-Executive Directors and the Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer of the company) with a further two Independent Non-Executive roles to fill.

Melanie Johnson, Chair of the NPSO, said: “Christine, Jean-Yves and Matthew bring world-class excellence in technology, procurement and payments respectively to our Board, which already comprises of extensive expertise across banking and infrastructure management. A strong Board will enable us to deliver change successfully while maintaining a clear focus on service delivery.”

The NPSO Board will also be advised and challenged by two Advisory Councils, representing end users and payment system participants, to ensure the UK's payment systems are run for the public good. The open recruitment and appointment processes for these advisory councils are on course.